top of page

HELLO TWENTY-SEVEN, FIVE THINGS I'VE LEARNED



Hey y'all!!!


So yesterday I turned 9,862 days old!


My little phone was going crazy with birthday love!


"You're getting old!' is all I heard yesterday lol and I loved it! I've always felt older than I really was and each year I get more and more excited about life.


Aging is sexy to me. The wisdom, power, experiences, knowledge, and even the gray hair! (I can’t wait to rock my god given salt and pepper strands and I’m just dreaming of the day my entire crown is white and fluffy!)


So, with that being said, yesterday was a good day! What did I do that made my day so great? Absolutely nothing. Nothing mandatory or important anyway. Nowhere to be, no bra, no makeup, no earrings, no weave, nothing. I know it was president's day and I was off, but I treated it as though my birthday was the national holiday and that's why I was off lol!



I was blessed enough to spend the majority of my day with my honey.

We laughed, talked, and enjoyed each other's company.

I guess I was talking too much, because after a few glasses of champagne and lunch, I looked over and he was sleeping like a baby.


So, I took a little trip to one of my fav thrift stores and did a little browsing and picked up some cool bday treasures. (this makes me happy)


My day was perfect.


I woke up this morning, hit snooze, and just laid in bed reflecting on my day. I can honestly say that I am proud of the woman I have become and becoming. I'm excited and more focused on my future than my past.



And of course, someone will say, "You're not that old."

Well, I’m old enough and I have learned and experienced a lot in my little 27 years of life.

So, before I go, I just wanted to share five things I’ve learned since my past birthdays.


Enjoy!



FIVE THINGS I'VE LEARNED IN MY TWENTY-SEVEN YEARS OF LIFE


ONE. IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE CRITICIZED, SAY NOTHING, DO NOTHING, BE NOTHING.

No matter who you are or what you do in life, someone will always have something to say. My advice to you is to continue to follow and obey god and enjoy the blessings that make it all worth it. You have to choose to accept the positive and ignore the negative. Your only other option is to hide from the critics, and we are way too dope for that!


TWO. SCREW DIETS MAKE A LIFESTYLE CHANGE.

Omg! I may have tried every stupid diet there is from the cabbage soup, magic tea, starve yourself diet, lol, and if I could afford it, I’m sure I would have gotten some work done! While some did work, they were only temporary and the next week I would revert back to my "normal" eating and exercise habits. After so many ups and downs on the scale and waist size, I’ve learned that you must change your lifestyle. Have whatever you'd like, but in moderation. Love yourself enough to make better life choices from food, exercise, and even day to day activities. I promise you won’t regret it.


THREE. IF YOU PRAY FOR IT, PREPARE FOR IT.

If you're reading this, I’m sure you've read my "if you pray for it, prepare for it" blog post, if not, shame on you! Lol jkjk, but you really should check it out! "prepare the table" and see what god does for you. It can be you wanting to move, well start packing and getting rid of the things you don't want to take to your new home. It could be you wanting a new career or promotion, prepare for it, start obtaining the skills you need for that new position. Whatever it may be that your heart desires, ask god for confirmation and start preparing!


FOUR. QUALITY OVER QUANTITY.

This applies to everything in life, friends, lovers, clothes, drinks, food, vacations, cars, houses, followers, posts, and the list goes on and on... Know your worth and never sell yourself short of the good things in life.


FIVE. IT'S 200% OKAY TO SAY NO.

Prioritize! You are super, but you're also natural. It's okay to say no and that's something I have struggled with in the past. It can be a really tough choice, but it's the line between getting stuff done and complete burnout. Make yourself a priority and not an option! Life goes on whether you say yes or no. They will figure it out. I promise.



I hope you take these things into consideration no matter your age. Thanks for all the birthday wishes, gifts, calls, texts, and love! I love you so much!




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page